Songlines magazine announces the nominees of the Songlines Music Awards 2013.

With the Songlines Music Awards now in their fifth year, Songlines is delighted to announce the 2013 nominees. The awards,
voted by Songlines readers and the general public, endeavour to celebrate and acknowledge the myriad of musical talents
across the world.

All the nominated artists have had albums reviewed in Songlines during 2012. There are four categories: Best Artist, Best Group, Cross-Cultural Collaboration and Newcomer. The nominees are the top four in each category from the public vote, profiles of which will be published in the April/May issue of Songlines (#91), on sale from March 15. The winners of each category will be announced in the June issue (#92), on sale from April 26, 2013.

The 16 nominees are:

Katy Carr (for the album Paszport on Deluce Recordings)
Angélique Kidjo (for the album Spirit Rising: Live from Guest Street on Wrasse Records)
Seth Lakeman (for the album Tales from the Barrel House on Honour Oak Records)
Ravi Shankar (for the album The Living Room Sessions Part 1 on East Meets West Music)

Bellowhead (for the album Broadside on Navigator Records)
Guy Schalom & Baladi Blues Ensemble (for the album Baladi Blues 3 on Ethnomusic Records)
LoʼJo (for the album Cinéma el Mundo on World Village)
Warsaw Village Band (for the album Nord on Jaro)

Eric Bibb & Habib Koité (for the album Brothers in Bamako on Contre-Jour)
The Chieftains (for the album Voice of Ages on Hear Music/Decca Records)
Dub Colossus (for the album Dub me Tender Vol 1 + 2 on Real World Records)
Joe Driscoll & Sekou Kouyaté (for the album Faya on Localization Records)

Sam Lee (for the album Ground of its Own on The Nest Collective)
Emel Mathlouthi (for the album Kelmti Horra on World Village)
Mokoomba (for the album Rising Tide on IGLOOMONDO)
Samuel Yirga (for the album Guzo on Real World Records)